Home > North America > The Bahamas
Bahamas flag
Commonwealth of The Bahamas
   Archipelago of 690 islands of coral origin (of which only thirty are inhabited), located north-east of Cuba and east of Florida. The Bahamas enjoy one of the mildest climates on the planet; although it is not very extensive, the most important island is New Providence, where almost 3/4 of the inhabitants reside; the economy is mainly based on tourism and offshore financial activities.
Government type Parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Area 13,880 kmē (5,359 sq mi)
Population 351,000 inh. (2010 census)
Population 397,000 inh. (2021 est.)
Population density 29 inh/kmē (74 inh/miē)
Capital Nassau (274,000 pop.)
Currency Bahamian dollar
Human development index 0.814 (58th place)
Languages English (official), Creole-English
Life expectancy M 71 years, F 76 years
Location in North-Central America


Surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean


Largest cities
Nassau 274,000 pop.
Freeport 26,900 pop.
Highest mountains
Mount Alvernia 63 m (207 ft)
Largest lakes
Lake Rosa (about 1/4 of Great Inagua surface area)
Largest islands
North Andros 3,439 kmē (1,328 sq mi)
Great Inagua 1,544 kmē (596 sq mi)
South Andros 1,448 kmē (559 sq mi)
Great Abaco 1,146 kmē (442 sq mi)
Grand Bahama 1,096 kmē (423 sq mi)
Long Island 596 kmē (230 sq mi)
Eleuthera 457 kmē (176 sq mi)


   Administratively, the Bahamas are divided into 31 districts, with the island of New Providence under the direct control of the central government; a large part of the population lives on the two islands of New Providence and Grand Bahama, which together make up just 9% of the territory.